top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie

Finding The Root Of The Problem After Five Years


Folliculitis. Mollesum. Dermatophytosis. Misdiagnosed.


A couple words I have been hearing since I was a Junior in high school. It seemed that every doctor and dermatologist I went to, loved putting a name to the skin condition, but when it came to the root of a problem, they weren't comfortable releasing that to me. I'd take the antibiotic, steroid, or cream and go on with my day, but only when I was a freshman in college, the reactions were not easily overlooked. This rash on my chest constantly burned, itched, and made me feel insecure.



Going to the doctor each time felt the same, they would diagnose the problem & give me a medication. When I would ask what is constantly causing this, they would tell me it's just the human body. Maybe I should change my soap. Maybe I should stop using dryer sheets. Maybe I need to shower as soon as I workout. Maybe they just didn't want to say, "I don't know". One dermatologist actually said, "maybe it's just a season of your life".

I really don't want to know how much money was spent on this doctorate level reasoning that I could've just googled.



During Christmas break, breakthrough finally happened. I was searching for answers, but when I finally got some, I wanted to hit the delete button and be ignorant to the problem. After 98 allergy shots, we discovered... I literally have no allergy's. Great. But what I did have is a weak immune system. Something that can't just get better with antibiotics. The allergist doctor explained to me that the skin is a mirror to how your immune system is acting. And I just happen to have an immune system that mirrors me, dramatic.

I should've been joyful that I found the root of the problem I have been looking for, but I felt defeated. I knew I needed to love my body and take care of it. Part of that is cutting out the inflammatory foods. If you don't know what that is, let me enlighten you. Inflammatory foods consist of soy, potatoes, sugar, dairy, fried foods, gluten, alcohol, peanuts, processed meats, and coffee. If you're curious what my diet looked before this, just read the list again.

I had no idea how much of my identity was in food until I took it away from myself. Starting this journey I thought I was going to feel deprived, but instead I had less anxiety, felt energized, slept better, had stable blood sugar, woke up refreshed, reduced bloating, oh & did I mention I finally had clear skin? I never expected to love this way of life like I do. It's easy to look at this and think, "omg, I can't believe you will take xy&z away from yourself." But let me tell you, I have discovered more food in the past few weeks that I love, that I would never have otherwise. I have learned to cook for myself in a hurry, rather than rolling through the Taco Bell fast food line.



Still, I could not have done this by myself. I luckily have a extremely caring mom who felt the need to know what the root of the problem is, as much as I did. Along with taking me to multiple appointments, hours away, she hooked me up with a close friend who is an Arbonne consultant. I definitely thought Arbonne was only makeup products, but the shake mixes and fizz sticks have saved me multiple times already.

I definitely recommend not jumping into this lifestyle without backup. I drank coffee multiple times a day. There was no way I was going to be able to suffer through caffeine withdraw while changing my diet. The fizzsticks give me the caffeine boost I need without hurting my body. Also, did I mention all of these products are vegan? No, this is not a paid advertisement. I'm just literally obsessed with every product I have tried so far


Anyways, even though I could not imagine my life without my current diet, sometimes things in our life change and we can do is embrace it.


As the great Nick Jonas would say, "Life happens. Adapt. Embrace change, and make the most of everything that comes your way."

726 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page